Alonso keeps title hopes alive with Monza win

Posted on Sep 13, 2010 by

put both cars on the podium in front of the team's home crowd

Fernando Alonso delighted Ferrari’s home fans and kept his championship hopes alive by winning the Italian Grand Prix at Monza.

The Spaniard, who qualified on pole position, lost the lead to Jenson Button at the first corner, but passed the Briton’s McLaren during the pit stops and held the lead to the chequered flag.

The championship leader, Button’s team mate Lewis Hamilton, crashed out early after an overoptimistic attempt to pass Ferrari’s Felipe Massa that left the McLaren with broken front steering. Massa went on to finish third, to the delight of the local tifosi – Ferrari’s ardent fan base.

Hamilton's first lap mistake has lost him the world championship lead

’s Sebastian Vettel produced an impressive drive, leaving his compulsory pit stop until a lap before the end to snatch fourth place after a disappointing qualification. Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg came home fifth ahead of Mark Webber in the second .

The result means that Webber regains the lead of the championship by five points from Hamilton, while Alonso climbs to third, 16 behind the Australian. Button is just one point behind in fourth and Vettel fifth, 24 points behind Webber.

Red Bull still leads the constructors’ championship on 350 points, three ahead of McLaren, with Ferrari in third on 290.

The next race is the Singapore Grand Prix on September 26.

1  Fernando Alonso // Ferrari
2  Jenson Button // McLaren-Mercedes  +2.938
3  Felipe Massa // Ferrari  +4.223
4  Sebastian Vettel // Red Bull-Renault  +28.193
5  Nico Rosberg // Mercedes  +29.942
6  Mark Webber // Red Bull-Renault  +31.276
7  Nico Hulkenberg // Williams-Cosworth  +32.812
8  Robert Kubica // Renault  +34.028
9  Michael Schumacher // Mercedes  +44.948
10  Rubens Barrichello // Williams-Cosworth  +1:04.213
11  Sebastian Buemi // Toro Rosso-Ferrari  +1:05.056
12  Vitantonio Liuzzi // Force India-Mercedes  +1:06.106
13  Vitaly Petrov // Renault  +1:18.919
14  Pedro de la Rosa // Sauber-Ferrari  +1 lap
15  Jaime Alguersuari // Toro Rosso-Ferrari  +1 lap
16  Adrian Sutil // Force India-Mercedes  +1 lap
17  Timo Glock // Virgin-Cosworth  +2 laps
18  Heike Kovalainen // Lotus-Cosworth  +2 laps
19  Lucas Di Grassi // Virgin-Cosworth  +2 laps
20  Sakon Yamamoto // HRT-Cosworth  +2 laps

Post Review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *